*New* FET Blackboard Module Template 2019/20: Copying Content to a New Module Run

Please note: As we have a new Blackboard module template for 2019/20, and you may have been copying over content year on year, this might be an ideal time to start again and use the inline guidance in the Blackboard module template to create a clearly labelled, up to date, well-structured and easily navigable site.

If you do perform a full course copy, you will need to delete superfluous content to declutter your new module run.

What happens if I do a full course copy?

There has been a reduction in the number of items on the menu in the new FET Blackboard Module Template for 2019/20 from 13 to 10. Figure 1 below shows what happens when the 2018/19 module template is copied into the new 2019/20 module template; it creates a longer list of 15 menu items (because the old menu items from last year are added to the new items for this year). If you perform a full course copy, your new module run may look something like this, and will require quite a bit of editing to remove superfluous content.

Figure 1: Course copy of old template on to new module template

  • Menu items in the red box will require deleting as they are from the old template.
  • Menu items in green boxes will contain duplicated content that students can see (see the Communication Policy example above). Each of these content areas will require editing to remove the duplicated content.

In addition, if you perform a full course copy, any advice to instructors will appear in duplicate (unless you deleted it from last year’s module run). Although students won’t see it, it will create a cluttered site.

Recommended copying process

As suggested above, we recommend starting again with the new module run and uploading content manually.

If this is going to be problematic, then consider just copying over individual content areas from last year’s module run. These might include, for example, Learning Materials and/or Contacts.

In Blackboard, in the old (source) course (in Edit mode): Control Panel > Packages and Utilities > Course Copy to copy content to the new (destination) course. Then just tick ‘Learning Materials’ for example.

For full instructions, including guidance on copying Panopto recordings and Online Assessment, see the Blackboard Guidance instructions on copying courses, but please note two points:

  • We recommend that you DO NOT delete items from the new Course Menu before using Course Copy because doing so will delete the default advice available in the FET Blackboard template.
  • If you have complex content (e.g. presentations/zipped packages), then you must select the third option under 3. File Attachment on the course copy page, as shown below:

[This is because the second option (the default and recommended option) only takes a copy of the content in the content areas and not the other files that will have been uploaded to the Content Collection as part of the original upload process (for complex content), meaning, for example, any presentations or packaged files won’t work.]

 

Organise the new (destination) course by moving, renaming and/or deleting content.

To move Items or Folders to different locations select ‘Move’ from the contextual menu of an Item or Folder then choose the destination course and folder you want to move the content to.

To rename an item in the Course Menu select ‘Rename Link’ from the contextual menu and enter a new name.

To delete items from the Course Menu (e.g. duplicate or redundant items) select ‘Delete’ from the contextual menu.

[Print version of Copying content to a new module run]

 

Image credit: school lockers flickr photo by hans s shared under a Creative Commons (BY-ND) license

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10 − eight =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.